Stuffed Pepper Casserole

IMG_0607.JPG

I live the idea of a stuffed pepper, but I find the texture of the pepper is to overwhelming for me. I looked around Pintrest to see what I could find and made up my own recipe.

Here is the recipe:
3/4 lb of ground beef, you could easily use ground turkey too
2 cups of cooked white or brown rice
3 bell peppers any colour, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 14.5 oz of petite diced tomatoes
1/2 a jar of Spaghetti sauce
S & P to taste

Method:

In a large pan cook the beef, season with salt and pepper, drain if needed. Add the peppers, onions and garlic and let me sauté until the veggies are tender. Add the tomatoes and the spaghetti sauce. Mix we’ll add the salt and pepper. Stir in the cooked rice and mix very well. Place in a casserole dish. I sprayed mine with a little Pam so it would not stick. Add the cheese on top.
Cook in the oven at 350 for about 30-45 min. I made mine early in the after noon and put it in the fridge. It warmed up in less then a hour.

This is a great meal this time of year, especially here in Windsor where peppers are in abundance.
Enjoy,
~Tina

Leave a Reply

