Quinoa and Black Bean Loaf

I am trying to get back on the band wagon with Meatless Monday.. I really enjoy beans and so does the rest of the family.. But I am trying to stay away from beans and rice with veggies or chilis.. I want to try to be more inventive with vegetarian meals.. So I came across this recipe on the “Happy Herbivore” blog and thought that I would give it a try.. I added Zucchini 🙂

Here is the recipe:

1 15oz can of black beans mashed with a fork
1 onion, diced 
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 carrot, grated 
2 celery stalks, minced
1c mushrooms, roughly chopped
1 zucchini, grated
1c cooked Quinoa
1tbsp italian seasoning
2tbsp ketchup
2tbsp soy sauce.. The recipe called for Tamari, but I didn’t have any.

Preheat your oven to 350.. Cook the quinoa (2 c water, bring to boil add 1 c of rinsed quinoa.. Bring the heat down to med and let simmer, until liquid is gone). Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.. Mix all the ingredients together and pack firmly in the loaf pan.. Cook for 45min-1hr or until brown.. Let sit for 15-20min before serving.. 

We had this with mashed califlower and potatoes and steamed brussel sprouts.

Leave a Reply

