Korean Beef or Turkey

Ground turkey is something that I try to use on a regular bases to replace ground beef.. Tonight I wanted to try something different, so in Pintrest I typed in ground turkey and came up with this recipe.. It is from the blog “Izzy”.. It was very fast to make.. The rice and the steamed veggies took longer then the actual main dish..

Recipe:

1 pound lean ground beef or ground turkey
1/4 – 1/2 cup brown sugar (I like it sweet so I usually do closer to 1/2 cup)
1/4 cup soy sauce (I use low-sodium)
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced (see note)
1/2 – 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers (to desired spiciness)
salt and pepper
1 bunch green onions, diced (don’t skip this!)

Heat a large skillet over medium heat and brown hamburger with garlic in the sesame oi.l. Drain most of the fat and add brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, salt and pepper and red peppers.. Simmer for a few minutes to blend the flavors.. Serve over steamed rice and top with green onions.

I didn’t quit have enough soy sauce, but I had about half and it tasted just fine.. It wasn’t low sodium, so maybe that is why.. This will definitely be a part of our rotation in the supper department.. I hope that you try it and Thanks to Izzy 🙂

Leave a Reply

