Santa Fe Chicken in the Slow Cooker

I found this recipe on the SkinnyTaste website.. It looked very good and I knew that it would be something my family would like, so we tried it tonight.. It is very simple, just empty all the cans, add the spices and lay the chicken on top and let it go.. It can’t get much better then that..

Ingredients:
11/2lb of chicken breast ( I used 2, 3 would have been just right)
14oz can of tomatoes with mild chilles ( I used what I had on hand, which was with sweet onions)
15oz can of black beans
8oz frozen corn ( I used a can, which worked fine)
1/4c cilantro ( we all know that I am not a fan, so it got omitted it here)
14oz of fat free chicken stock
3 scallions, chopped (I didnt have any so I used one whole onion to replace this and the onion powder)
1tsp garlic powder ( I used 2 cloves of fresh garlic)
1tsp cumin
1tsp cayenne pepper ( I used 1/4tsp to make it not so hot for the baby)
salt to taste

Method:
Mixed all the ingredients in the crock pot and lay the chicken on top.. I cooked it for 5hrs on high.. Take out the chicken and shred it and put it back in for 30min.. At this time I lowered the heat to low.. Serve over rice and top with your favorite cheese, cilantro and sour cream..
Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

