Happy Tuesday

ImageHappy Fat Tuesday, Shrove Tuesday, Pancake Tuesday or Mardis Gras.. Which ever you celebrate, I hope you enjoyed the day..  One of my fondest memories as a child is going to the Pancake Supper for the Church.. I mostly remember working it, clearing the tables and doing dishes.. But I loved it.. It was something that I looked forward to on Shrove Tuesday.. Who doesn’t like eating Pancakes for supper.. Pancakes are a staple in my life.. I could eat them all the time, but choose not to all the time ;). So since moving out and starting my own family, I make it a point to have pancakes on this day.. This year I wanted to try something different.. I wanted to find a pancake that has a little more substance, as we all know that pancakes do not really keep one full for a long time.. So I thought why not add some oatmeal.. So I searched AllRecipes for a Oatmeal Pancake recipe and found one.. I thought as I was mixing up the recipe, there must be something that I can add to these to make them a little more exciting.. So I added some cinnamon and raisins.. Oatmeal raisin Pancakes were evolved in my kitchen tonight.. We had these amazing pancakes with baked beans and sausages.. What else would you have with your pancakes on this special day.. As it is the staple menu at any Church Pancake supper.. So here are the recipes that I used to continue the tradition of Pancake Tuesday at my House.

~Oatmeal Raisin Pancakes

 3/4c quick cooking oats
1/2c flour
1tsp baking soda
1/2tsp sugar
1 egg
1c milk
3tbsp melted margarine
1tsp vanilla
1/2c raisins
1.5tbsp cinnamon
~Method
Mix all dry ingredients into a bowl.. Melt the margarine.. In another bowl mix together the egg, milk, vanilla and margarine.. Add to the dry ingredients, add the raisins and mix well.. Use a 1/3c to pour them out on a hot griddle.. It makes about 6 pancakes.. I found the longer that I let the mixture sit the less watery it became.. So do not be alarmed with the consistency of the batter..

~Thompson’s Baked Beans

2c Thompson’s White Pea Beans
5c cold water
1 medium onion, sliced
1/2tbsp salt
2tsp cider vinegar
1tbsp brown sugar
1/2tsp prepared yellow mustard
1/4c Molasses
1/2c ketchup
1/8tsp black pepper
1/4lb bacon
~Method
Soak beans over night in cold water.. In a large pot add the beans and the water, bring to a boil, once at a boil reduce to simmer for 30min (I usually let mine cook for a little longer as I like my beans to be more tender) Once they are cook drain.. At the bottom of your slow cooker or dutch oven lay out the sliced onion.. Mix the rest of the ingredients together and set aside.. Add the beans on top of the onions and pour over the sauce.. Add enough water to cover the beans, placing the bacon at the top.. You can cook them in your dutch over at 250degrees for 7hrs or on low in your slow cooker for 7 hrs.. When the beans are tender take out 1c and mash them, place them back in the pot and continue to cook..

I hope that you enjoy these recipes and your Pancake Tuesday 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

